Monday, March 18, 2019

Other Bodies by Joel Ohman

For fans of The Hunger Games, The Maze Runner, and Divergent comes a YA dystopian/light romance with a strong female protagonist who is forced to question everything...

In a world where immersive VR suits distort what is real from what is not, and the AI Personhood Act blurs the lines between body and bot, the choices sixteen-year-old Hattie Martins faces are very personal.

Welcome to Hattie Martins' dystopian Philadelphia, where everything is not as it seems...

Just as her life is looking up--a new job, new friends, a new date--Hattie discovers not all progress in her beloved, futuristic Philadelphia is for the best. Societal regrets can become personal regrets in an instant. Choices don't always come with second chances, and when they do the cost can be unimaginable. How far will she go to undo her greatest regret? And worse yet, what will she become if it's too late? 

In a world where bots are equal to bodies, what does it mean to be alive? 

What is real? 

Which bodies matter? 

What about the other bodies?... 

In this blistering new young adult novel from the #1 bestselling author of the Meritropolis series, readers will question everything they know about life and reality in a unique dystopian adventure that is equal parts moral dilemma and romance.

If you enjoy Veronica Roth, James Dashner, or Suzanne Collins then this is the story of the year you won't want to miss. BUY NOW.

*Subject matter includes references to euthanasia, abortion, and teenage pregnancy. There are NO sex scenes and NO curse words. This is a stand-alone book with a complete story from beginning to end. There are NO cliff-hangers and this is NOT a part of a series.*

This book is available on Amazon


About Joel Ohman:

Joel Ohman lives in Tampa, FL with his wife Angela and their three kids. His writing companion is Caesar, a slightly overweight Bull Mastiff who loves to eat the tops off of strawberries. Joel is the author of the #1 bestselling Meritropolis series--"The Hunger Games meets The Village with a young Jack Reacher as a protagonist" and the new YA release, Other Bodies. "  
Join the Joel Ohman Reader's Group for FREE giveaways and VIP access to pre-release books, gift cards, and special announcements. 
Join now at JoelOhman.com!

My Thoughts:
This book deals with that very controversial topic of abortion. I am pro-life, so I chose this book to see what the author had to say and how the author was using his voice to address a difficult subject. I also thought my son might enjoy reading it, since he is more into the the dystopian, sci-fi, type books than I am.

It was funny, after starting the book, he said, "Mom, do you know what this book is about?" I said, "Yes! Abortion. Why?" He said, "I thought the book was about some robots or everybody having two bodies". So, he didn't know if he really wanted to read it. However, after getting to the part about the virtual reality robots, he said he thought he would read some more, that it wasn't all that bad.

I think the author did a pretty good job of writing a book for teens or young adults, who enjoy that style. I finished it, but I wasn't really that into the genre. I also felt like the ending was kind of abrupt. Usually, I read Christian novels, however, the author did not really address this book from a Christian standpoint. I felt it was lacking in offering hope, forgiveness, and the fact that Christ cares about the person who had the abortion, as well as the baby that was aborted.

It also kind of seemed like the girl in the book was older than 16. She gets a job at an abortion clinic and lives alone, and seems like she has been living alone for several years sine  the passing of her grandfather.  Although, I have not had an abortion myself, I felt the author did a good job of projecting emotions and feelings of those who have possibly felt compelled to take that path due to circumstances they felt were beyond their control. Of course, unless you have actually been in that situation I am sure it is difficult to really know what it would be like.

There were also some pretty sad and disturbing aspects in regards to abortion procedures discussed that are not for the faint at heart. Overall, although the topic was well addressed, it was somewhat sad and I had hoped the author would have at least offered Hattie some hope for the future and peace through Jesus. However, I would recommend this book!

I was blessed with a copy of this book courtesy of FlyBy Promotions and the Author. All opinions are my own. 

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love hearing from my readers. Thank you for leaving a comment.